Friday, July 9, 2010

2010 SPICE Cup

The 2010 SPICE Cup will take place on Thursday, October 28 - Sunday, November 7 at the beautiful campus of Texas Tech University. The prestigious event is growing bigger every year. It is expected to be even higher rated than the 2009 SPICE Cup, which is the highest rated international invitational tournament in U.S. history to date.

To make the tournament a lot more exciting, the SPICE Cup committee has unanimously voted to adapt the following new rules for the A group:

- No draw offer allowed prior to move 30
- A win = 3 points, a draw = 1 point, and loss = 0 point

Confirmed players:

GM Alexander Onischuk (USA) 2701 (#3 in the U.S., former U.S. Champion)
GM Wesley So (Philippines) 2674 (#1 in the Philippines)
GM Georg Meier (Germany) 2648 (#2 in Germany)
GM Ray Robson (USA) 2562 (Youngest American GM in history)
GM Eugene Perelshteyn (USA) 2523 (winner of SPICE Cup B group)

We are working on finalizing the agreement for the final player. The format of the A group will once again be a 6-player DRR (category 16) event.

The B group will be a 10-player (category 10-11) RR event. The players confirmed for B group so far is GM Kuljasevic (2551), GM Finegold (2530), IM Krush (2476), IM Ippolito (2458), IM Rensch (2404), FM Yang (2396), and 3 more have been tentatively confirmed.

We are planning to add a C group for 2010 in addition to an Open Tournament.
Posted by Picasa

No comments: